black friday deals: earn up to $200 in rewards! learn how >

member exclusive: earn up to 2x the points! join now >

spend $39, get FREE same day delivery! shop now >

Venta® Original LW25 Humidifier in White

74 Reviews

$390.99
$293.24 Get 25% off & earn 10% back in points with Welcome Rewards™+ Enroll Now

Out of stock

4.3

74 reviews ·84 ratings

90%

Would recommend

65 recommendations

5
58
4
14
3
2
2
2
1
8
4.4

Quality

4.1

Value

4.3

Features

4.9

Ease of Use

4.7

Style

    Most Helpful Positive Review

    A Simple but Elegant Humidfier

    zidecar.8 years ago
    Recommended

    I purchased this humidifier because I was tired of cleaning dust off surfaces with ultrasonic humidifiers and descaling heating elements with hot air humidifiers. The unit is of the evaporative type, which means it relies on a fan to circulate air around a turning drum to add moisture to the air. The operation is efficient and effective. There is no humidity level to set or automatic shut off. The unit runs continuously until you shut it off, irrespective of whether there is water in the reservoir or not. The only control is fan speed of which there are 3 (low, med, high and off). The degree of evaporation and noise level increases as the fan speed increases. The noise level is tolerable at low and medium speeds - it is drone-like and you eventuaslly get used to it as background noise. The units works best with the Venta water additive. The additive accomplishes 2 things. First, it is decreases the surface tension of the water so it more readily adheres to the surface of the drum, making evaportion more effective. Second, it contains a mold inhibitor to keep mold/scum from forming in the water. I change it every 10-14 days when the sediment level (dust) in the holding tank completely covers the bottom. Dust in the air is captured by the drum as it turns. This same dust will collect over the fan blades and inside of the fan housing and needs to be cleaned every 3-4 months (once a season for us). The fan unit lifts off the base tank making transport of the resevoir to a sink for emptying/cleaning easy. The fan unit housing easily disassembles for cleaning. At medium speed running continously, the tank needs to be filled daily. I use a watering can to refill the tank between cleanings. At the end of the winter season, I clean the unit and store it in its original box until the next winter sesson.

    Most Helpful Critical Review

    Noise Issues, Poor Warranty Service, etc.

    C__L.8 years ago
    Not Recommended

    We have had a number of issues in the two or three months we have been using this humidifier, and it is probably about to go back to BB&B. The main issue: noise. When it is working as it should, the only noise is some white noise from the fan, which is not an issue. However, after about two weeks, it started making a rhythmic clicking noise, which is not something one wants in one's bedroom. It wakes me up, then keeps me awake--I end up having to turn the humidifier off at night. There are a couple of recommendations in the manual to try to address this noise and neither worked. So we contacted customer support for Venta. First, this was a pain because they are only available 9-4 or 9-5 (depending on the day) on weekdays--in central time. This made it extremely inconvenient to talk to someone. When I did, they confirmed it was likely an issue with their gearbox, and they would send me a new one if I paid them $15 shipping! So an very expensive humidifier that didn't function correctly within 2 weeks just got more expensive (I should have followed my initial judgment and just returned it then). The new gearbox was installed, and within a few days, the clicking noise was back. With our own fiddling and experimentation, we found that the noise occurred the most when the water level was high (surface pressure from the water pulling down on the flimsy rubber connector that holds the fan and gearbox together, perhaps?). So we started filling it in the morning instead of at night. Within another week or two, even this didn't seem to make much difference. I am not about to pay them another $15 for their continually faulty product (they claim they categorically charge $15 shipping--no matter what they are shipping). Another issue: this thing is NOT nearly as easy to clean as they would lead you to believe. The disk stack collects an oily reddish-brown gunk in its many crevices which must be cleaned individually with a toothbrush--this takes quite some time and is fiddly. It also appears to be necessary much more often than they suggest (every 6 to 8 weeks). Also, contrary to their manual instructions, it is NOT safe to put the disk stack in the dishwasher. We put it in with no soap, on the gentle china was cycle, with no heat (as directed). After the wash, the oily gunk was still on the disk stack, and several of the disks were bowed and warped! At the same time I contacted them about the clicking issue, I got them to send a replacement disk stack--but they indicated that this component is not actually covered by their warranty and they acted as though they were doing me the greatest favor to replace the part that was damaged from following their own manual instructions. Fortunately, their shipping is flat rate, so they only charged me once for both the gearbox and the disk stack. The claims about how easy this humidifier was to clean is the *only* reason we were willing to pay such a premium on this model instead of one that costs a quarter of the price. It turns out these claims are false. I am also not sure if this is typically for evaporative models, but it took about 3 weeks for it to humidifier our 200 sq ft bedroom (our model is supposed to be good for up to 400 sq ft), and during particularly dry weather--e.g., when the Santa Ana winds are blowing--the humidity still drops below 30 with the humidifier running at its highest (loud) speed. In short: it will keep you awake with annoying clicking noises, their warranty customer service is inconvenient to talk to and will charge you for fixes that may not work, and it is not easy to clean. Save your money and buy a cheaper model from someone else.

    customer reviews

    Showing 1 - 20 out of 74 reviews

    Smells bad and doesn’t help at all

    Michaela . 4 months ago

    This purifier is useless. Absolute waste of money. Unfortunately I missed the return window so I’m stuck with it.

    Worth every penny!!

    Juhnette . 9 months ago

    This unit is fantastic! I’ve had the LW25 since November 2021. The unit is super easy to fill - I fill with water daily as it puts that much moisture in my home. I liked it so much that I bought another smaller unit as a gift and a larger LW45 for the great room. I clean my units once/month and have had no issues - super easy to clean. My skin isn’t as dry, breathing issues are better and we sleep better at night - no more dry nose. There are no filters to buy - the addictive is not expensive - especially if you are a Beyond+ member or use a coupon. The additive is a large bottle with hash lines so you know how much to use. So far I’m still on the same bottle and I use it for 2 machines (1 being the larger unit that requires more additive). Is this unit more expensive than most on the market? Yes - but worth every single penny. I got tired of buying paper filters that only worked in a machine for 2 weeks and never added any humidity to the house. This is a game changer for our home in the winter.

    Our air is so much cleaner

    BB&B Customer . 1 year ago

    Easy to clean and fill, you can see the difference in the air quality

    Only raised humidity by 2%

    Soundsinamotion . 2 years ago

    I turned this on in my small living room and shut all the doors. When I left it was 31% humidity and when I came back at the end of the day it was only at 33%.

    The best there is - a must-have for musicians

    BB&B Customer . 2 years ago

    I've had a pair of these for five years. They are far better than any alternative short of having a built-in central air humidifier. Because of the size of my space, I selected the larger LW45 model. For the first two years I was in a semi-arid environment in the Texas panhandle and the latter three in the less arid Dallas area. Being a musician, I know that insturments - particularly acoustic instruments - require a humidity level of 40% to 50%. This is why many music stores have an enclosed room for acoustic guitars. This is not just a problem in that region but all over the country because most central air systems do not have humidifiers and in the winter this can really dry things out. Over time it can take a full and harmonically rich guitar a completely sap the tone, making it sound thin and reedy. True story - in 1979 I bought an amazing limited edition guitar - sounded like a grand piano - truly magnificent. Nine years later it was destroyed during a move. I then spent the next 28 years looking for another one of the same series. The one I bought vi an online auction site had spent 36 years in Maine, in a home without humidified central air. The guitar sounded like a ukelele - thin, no harmonics whatsoever, no mids or bottom-end. Plus a couple of the frets had lifted up. The owner turned one of the best guitars ever into a useless piece of junk. The moral - _obey_the_manufacturer's_instructions_ - keep your instruments humidified!!! For the past three years I have been in the Dallas area. Half the year the humidity is perfect and I use the ventas starting in late October through the end of March. I have one in my home studio and another in the kitchen and have temperature / humidity gauges in each room so even in the winter, I will often leave the ventas turned off. Otherwise I will have both set to low and everything is perfect. My gear includes a pair of acoustic guitars, a couple of electrics, an electric bass and a thinline electric base, plus a bunch of wooden congas and other drums with natural hide heads. The venta keeps them all in excellent condition. If you were to balk at the price of a venta, consider how that amortizes over a span of years and consider the impact on the instruments and the bang for the buck with a venta. NOTE: One reviewer complains of a clicking noise. This is because they had poked around inside the unit flipped a release lever and unseated the mechanism. Nothing more. It is a thirty-second fix.

    Disapointing

    Elizabeth . 2 years ago

    The product collects dust, but during the short use the speed button went off. That means that you can't control the tool, and you can't control the noise.

    Cleans Air - Doesn't Humidfy - Bright LED Light

    steve . 2 years ago

    Have owned Venta units for years. This one disappoints in that they added a BRIGHT purple LED light that makes the bedroom look like a disco at night. You cannot dim or turn it off. Had to tape it over. It makes a clicking sound that can annoy.

    Best humidifier/air washer after buying 3 cheaper.

    Crypto_Ed . 3 years ago

    It's more quiet than the Boneco W200 and better features like 3 speed settings and better quality.

    Our new early Christmas present. Venta Airwasher

    Jaye02062 . 3 years ago

    Love this......it’s nice and quiet in the bedroom.....even my spoiled Chihuahua loves it......we all sleep better! Easy peasy.

    Noise Issues, Poor Warranty Service, etc.

    C__L . 4 years ago

    We have had a number of issues in the two or three months we have been using this humidifier, and it is probably about to go back to BB&B. The main issue: noise. When it is working as it should, the only noise is some white noise from the fan, which is not an issue. However, after about two weeks, it started making a rhythmic clicking noise, which is not something one wants in one's bedroom. It wakes me up, then keeps me awake--I end up having to turn the humidifier off at night. There are a couple of recommendations in the manual to try to address this noise and neither worked. So we contacted customer support for Venta. First, this was a pain because they are only available 9-4 or 9-5 (depending on the day) on weekdays--in central time. This made it extremely inconvenient to talk to someone. When I did, they confirmed it was likely an issue with their gearbox, and they would send me a new one if I paid them $15 shipping! So an very expensive humidifier that didn't function correctly within 2 weeks just got more expensive (I should have followed my initial judgment and just returned it then). The new gearbox was installed, and within a few days, the clicking noise was back. With our own fiddling and experimentation, we found that the noise occurred the most when the water level was high (surface pressure from the water pulling down on the flimsy rubber connector that holds the fan and gearbox together, perhaps?). So we started filling it in the morning instead of at night. Within another week or two, even this didn't seem to make much difference. I am not about to pay them another $15 for their continually faulty product (they claim they categorically charge $15 shipping--no matter what they are shipping). Another issue: this thing is NOT nearly as easy to clean as they would lead you to believe. The disk stack collects an oily reddish-brown gunk in its many crevices which must be cleaned individually with a toothbrush--this takes quite some time and is fiddly. It also appears to be necessary much more often than they suggest (every 6 to 8 weeks). Also, contrary to their manual instructions, it is NOT safe to put the disk stack in the dishwasher. We put it in with no soap, on the gentle china was cycle, with no heat (as directed). After the wash, the oily gunk was still on the disk stack, and several of the disks were bowed and warped! At the same time I contacted them about the clicking issue, I got them to send a replacement disk stack--but they indicated that this component is not actually covered by their warranty and they acted as though they were doing me the greatest favor to replace the part that was damaged from following their own manual instructions. Fortunately, their shipping is flat rate, so they only charged me once for both the gearbox and the disk stack. The claims about how easy this humidifier was to clean is the *only* reason we were willing to pay such a premium on this model instead of one that costs a quarter of the price. It turns out these claims are false. I am also not sure if this is typically for evaporative models, but it took about 3 weeks for it to humidifier our 200 sq ft bedroom (our model is supposed to be good for up to 400 sq ft), and during particularly dry weather--e.g., when the Santa Ana winds are blowing--the humidity still drops below 30 with the humidifier running at its highest (loud) speed. In short: it will keep you awake with annoying clicking noises, their warranty customer service is inconvenient to talk to and will charge you for fixes that may not work, and it is not easy to clean. Save your money and buy a cheaper model from someone else.

    Temper your expectations

    Rb101 . 4 years ago

    While I generally like this humidifier, the 400 sq-ft rating of the LW25 is very optimistic in my opinion. Venta does use the "up to" caveat in the specification. I have a 238 sq-ft bedroom which this humidifier can barely bring to 38% (yes, the humidity gauge is calibrated). I am using their water treatment solution and following their instructions. With the fan set to the highest speed (3), this unit can bring the bedroom to 40%. However, when I go to sleep and set the fan speed to medium (2), it fails to maintain the humidity in the bedroom at 40%. The room is sealed while I sleep so there may be these issues: - A room is not just square-feet, it's cubic feet. While only 14' x 17', the bedroom has 11' ceilings. - The central heat may be exhausting the room and pushing in warm dry air at a rate beyond what the LW25 humidifier can handle. I do have an LW45 running at high speed at all times in the main portion of my small retirement house, though. - The sq-ft rating of the humidifier may be based on lab testing under ideal, stable conditions, which do not describe the average home. On the plus side, the unit is very easy to operate and understand. Those who found this humidifier overly complicated and over-engineered may also have problems with a light switch. There is an on-off push button switch and a 3-speed fan push button. That's it. The humidifier's lower half is the water tank in which sits a removable array of slowly spinning plastic disks. The upper half is an easily removable, light weight section that just sits on top of the water tank and houses the fan. Both housings feel pretty rugged to me. There are 2 latches on the top that allow the whole top section to be spread apart like a 4-petal flower for fairly easy cleaning. Some may view the power cord as flimsy. I would call it easy-to-manage. If the upper housing is opened, or the water level in the tank gets too low the unit will shut off. I fill the tank with a small watering can. My LW25 and the LW45 are each around 50-75% empty every morning -- your mileage may vary. The water additive is used every 10-14 days. You will need to let the unit(s) run continuously, perhaps on high speed, when first brought in to a dry house. Be patient. It may take up to a week (according to the literature) for carpets, wood flooring and furniture, etc. to stop absorbing moisture and allow the humidity in the room to increase to the desired level. It did take around 5 days before I noticed the humidity reach a fairly stable level in my house. These Venta units are not as effective at rapidly humidifying a house (in my experience) as a large evaporative unit that uses a replaceable water-saturated filter, such as units made by Hxxxxxxll and others. However, the Venta with its water treatment solution seems to handle hard water much better than any of my old evaporative units with replaceable, gunked-up, yucky filters (that's tech-speak), In addition, the Venta only needs an additive every 10-14 days instead of every time the water tanks are filled. I am still not sure that the Venta humidifier is a better option than much less expensive large ultrasonic units. I have never had a "white dust" problem with the ultrasonic units I have owned when I used the appropriate number of drop-in demineralizer cartridges. However, an ultrasonic unit will not trap some of your airborne dust and small flying insects like the Venta will. With the Venta and a small watering can, I do not have to use a bathtub or deep sink to fill the water tanks. I guess I would advise buying larger Venta units than you think you will need. If you keep your bedrooms doors closed at night you would want to have a humidifier in each of those, in addition to the main section of the house. I haven't owned my Venta humidifiers long enough to make any meaningful prediction as to their durability. If you are not satisfied with the performance of these Venta humidifiers, there is always the generous BB&B return policy. Make sure to take advantage of the 20% discount offers. If you plan on buying multiple units at once the Beyond+ program is definitely worth joining for the 20% discount on your entire purchase.

    So easy to fill

    dog3 . 4 years ago

    I had a Venta Humidifier before and it lasted for well over 10 years. I love the convenience and ease of this product. It is easy to open to clean and easy to refill. I can easily carry it to another level of the house if I want to move it. I run it 24 hours a day and never had a problem.

    Definitely Worth the Price!

    Lake Erie Girl . 4 years ago

    We bought this a month ago and it is great. After having multiple other humidifiers that were cheaper, this one is well worth the price - easy to use, quiet, does a wonderful job and doesn’t make a mess!

    Easy to Operate

    Farkle . 4 years ago

    I bought this because it is a German product and it said that it would not cause "white dust" on you furniture like another humidifier I had. The big plus is that you can use tap water and it is very easy to clean. You do have to use the recommended additive to help with buildup from minerals in your water. It is also an air purifier which most humidifiers don't have. I think it is well worth the money.

    Great Features

    Backbone . 4 years ago

    I bought this about one month ago and am very happy that I did.

    Comfortable and Quiet

    DiJo . 4 years ago

    We bought it for our apartment, noticed difference immediately!

    working well

    LA buyer . 4 years ago

    I had to replace an older venta that I bought about 15 years ago. The new one is slightly larger with a couple of small improvements but otherwise works well and is very silent (a major plus)

    Great

    Laeti . 4 years ago

    Used in an office or a bedroom, it is silent enough and I could breathe better.

    Easy to use

    Homemaker . 4 years ago

    This is our second unit, and they work great.

    Great product

    vinylmaven . 4 years ago

    This is by far the best humidfier on the market in my opinion. It is quiet, requires very little maintenance and runs forever. I have a larger model as well, which is over 10 year old and still working. Highly recommended!

    Showing 1 - 20 out of 74 reviews