spend $39, get FREE same day delivery! shop now

save 20% off your next order! get offer

introducing ever & ever, only at buybuy BABY shop now

Get exclusive perks with Welcome Rewards! join now >

Safety 1st® OutSmart™ 2-Pack Knob Covers With Decoy Button in White

26 Reviews

$7.99
3.5

26 reviews ·27 ratings

68%

Would recommend

17 recommendations

5
44%
4
15%
3
7%
2
15%
1
19%
4.3

Quality

4.5

Value

5.0

Features

4.0

Ease of Use

    customer reviews

    Showing 1 - 20 out of 26 reviews

    Lasted less than 60 seconds

    BB&B Customer . 1 year ago

    My daughter just turned 2. We put these on our door to the basement as she recently figured out the previous childlock. We put this on, she walked up to the door, put her water down, and opened the door as easily as if there wasn't any child lock on at all. She proudly yelled "I did it!". It fit the door know properly, the door was properly closed and the lock was properly installed. My 2 year old didn't even have to strategize on how to get the door open, and I don't think she even noticed the fake out button on the front.

    LogoOriginally posted on bedbathbeyond.com

    Love the fake button

    Ginsusamurai . 3 years ago

    This is such a subtle design that many adults are fooled by it too. Love the fake button.

    Disappointing that it doesn't fit.

    Bed Bath and Beyond Customer . 4 years ago

    Great idea but doesn't fit our standard builder round door knob. So it has to go back as it doesn't serve its purpose at all. Disappointing.

    LogoOriginally posted on safety1st.com

    Works all too well

    Geri04 . 4 years ago

    This product does work but is somewhat adult proof as well. You need a strong thumb and forefinger grasp to open door knob.

    Good Idea, Bad Fit

    Mom of 2 . 4 years ago

    I bought so many of these, hoping that they would work out for us but they’re too small to close all the way on my doornob.

    Not a good start

    Bed Bath and Beyond Customer . 5 years ago

    To small for our door nobs that are in the size range of what should work, useless.

    LogoOriginally posted on safety1st.com

    great product

    Bed Bath and Beyond Customer . 5 years ago

    We have been using these for 4 months now and they work great. Our child figured out the ones with the holes in them, so we switched to these. The decoy button is a great idea. Would definitely recommend to anyone. the reason I put 4 stars is they are difficult to take off the door handle once it is not needed anymore.

    LogoOriginally posted on safety1st.com

    Did not work for me

    Bed Bath and Beyond Customer . 5 years ago

    We have a round Kwikset door knob on the door to our basement and this item was too big. It was next to impossible to get any grip on the knob in order to open the door. Removing it in order to return it was extremely hard.

    LogoOriginally posted on safety1st.com

    PetraA . 6 years ago

    Great! Quite easy to install, works great as little hands cannot open the door!

    LogoOriginally posted on bedbathbeyond.com

    Needs improvement

    Bed Bath and Beyond Customer . 7 years ago

    As I write this I am stuck in my house thanks to these. At first they worked great and I guess the grip material on the inside has worn off and now I literally can't open my door with them on. Problem is, they fit so snugly that I have been unable to remove them, thus far. I do like the center lock cover but instead of grips that wear down after a few days, just need to have the holes for gripping as in the classic style (which we have used for over a year without any issues). While I do plan on keeping these because I like the lock cover, I will be cutting out the soft grip portion. Thankfully my house isn't on fire and I need to make a quick exit! Been trying for over 10 minutes to get the cover off without any success. Good concept but definitely needs improvement.

    LogoOriginally posted on safety1st.com

    Great.....in theory

    Bed Bath and Beyond Customer . 7 years ago

    I got these because they looked like they would stay on the door knob better than the other style (my child just takes the other ones off). I was VERY surprised that these fit so tightly on the door knobs that the knob twists with the cover even without the sides pressed. In fact it was so tight that once the door knob was turned, the latch stayed open. I will be returning these.

    LogoOriginally posted on safety1st.com

    Love the decoy button!

    Bed Bath and Beyond Customer . 7 years ago

    I love that my children think the middle decoy button will open the door. I have escape artists who try and try all day and can't open this door yet! Win for mom!!

    LogoOriginally posted on safety1st.com

    Works Great!

    Bed Bath and Beyond Customer . 7 years ago

    The decoy bottom is a great design! There is even a tab to lift so you can lock the door without having to take the handle off. It is a tighter fit than our previous cover that you need to stick your fingers in the holes to grip the handle, therefore it is easier to unlock with one hand.

    LogoOriginally posted on safety1st.com

    You need these

    Bed Bath and Beyond Customer . 7 years ago

    These came to our home at the perfect time. My son just learned to open the bathroom door and no one had any privacy. We installed during naptime. He woke up and could not get in. He pressed and pressed at the decoy button to no avail. At times my six year old can't even get in haha

    LogoOriginally posted on safety1st.com

    You will be at the door before your child can outsmart this.

    Bed Bath and Beyond Customer . 7 years ago

    I recently gifted this item to my sister in law after she called telling me my newly turned 2 year old niece made her way into the garage. My sister in law was nursing her newborn when the 2 year old had a grand plan to take her baby doll shopping. I shipped this product to them the next day. Pro: the toddler hasn't gotten out since Con: she is crying at the door because the baby doll needs snacks at the grocery store. All in all, it is a life saver...TRULY.

    LogoOriginally posted on safety1st.com

    Great Idea-but not one-size-fit-all

    Bed Bath and Beyond Customer . 7 years ago

    I was excited about this product when I got it, but unfortunately it did not work with our particular door knobs. It's so child-proof, it's also parent-proof. I had to dismantle the cover just to get out of the room myself.

    LogoOriginally posted on safety1st.com

    Great for front door!

    Bed Bath and Beyond Customer . 7 years ago

    My one year old recently learned to open doors so I used this cover on our front door to keep him from opening it on his own. He can't open it now and can't break the handle off. It gives me great peace of mind. I love the soft rubber sides where an adult can open the door. My 3 year old also cannot open with these on which is a big plus. She has been able to break other kinds off. Definitely buying more!

    LogoOriginally posted on safety1st.com

    Love These...

    Bed Bath and Beyond Customer . 7 years ago

    These are great, my son is just starting to be able to reach knobs and understand how they work these are a great and keep him from getting into trouble.

    LogoOriginally posted on safety1st.com

    Useful and safe

    Bed Bath and Beyond Customer . 7 years ago

    It was a little difficult to get over or door knob, but once we got it on correctly, it was great. It even tricked my husband a few times :)

    LogoOriginally posted on safety1st.com

    Didnt't Work for Me

    Bed Bath and Beyond Customer . 7 years ago

    Unfortunately, these did not close over the knobs on my doors. The smaller opening is too narrow for my knobs. I also noticed that the cover was super difficult to open -- I had to ask my husband. This is a necessary product for a home with toddlers, though, so I would have used it gladly if it fit over my doorknobs.

    LogoOriginally posted on safety1st.com

    Showing 1 - 20 out of 26 reviews