cyber week deals: up to 50% off! shop now >

member exclusive: earn up to 2x the points! join now >

Exergen Temporal Scanner Thermometer

31 Reviews

$34.99
$27.99 Get 20% off & earn 5% back in points with Rewards™+ Enroll Now
3.1

31 reviews ·37 ratings

45%

Would recommend

14 recommendations

5
15
4
3
3
1
2
5
1
13
3.2

Quality

3.1

Value

3.7

Features

3.6

Ease of Use

3.8

Style

    Most Helpful Positive Review

    FAR better than the Braun temporal thermometer

    Katie.6 years ago
    Recommended

    At five months old, my son was diagnosed the flu and developed pneumonia. During the weeks that managed his health, we visited several doctor's offices, diagnostic imaging centers, ERs, and eventually Children's Mercy. We tracked his feedings, medications, diapers, and of course, his temperature. The Braun thermometer was horribly inconsistent, giving us different temperature readings when measured even seconds apart. In frustration and exhaustion, I went to the pharmacy to seek a better option and took a chance on the Exergen brand because it was the brand used by my doctor's office. Its readings are consistent and in line with those at my doctor's office. And it saves a history of the last several readings you've collected so that when it's critical and you're sleep deprived, you can accurately report to your healthcare provider the history of your child's fluctuating temperature without flipping through stacks of scribbled notes. I cannot recommend this product enough. It is a must-have in my opinion and far out-performed the competition.

    Most Helpful Critical Review

    Terrible

    New mom.6 years ago
    Not Recommended

    I am not one to write reviews but I do read them. However, I feel very strongly against this product. This is the worst thermometer. As a new mother I wanted something that would be accurate but less intrusive to get a quick temperature for my son. My son had been sick and we were using the Exergen thermometer to get a quick temperature. The thermometer never registered a temperature above 97.8 degrees. My husband and I decided to take a rectal temperature just to double check. our son had a fever of 100.8 which we doubled checked with both thermometers. Naeedless to say, this is extremely dangerous and concerning how 2 thermometers can read with such a difference in degrees. I don’t expect the thermometer to be perfects but a range from 97-100 is to much of a variance for a 5 month old and dangerous. Needless to say I will never purchase anything from this brand again.

    customer reviews

    Showing 1 - 20 out of 31 reviews

    Convenient but not accurate

    TMartin . 9 months ago

    I got this thermometer because it was the same one my doctor used. I really liked it at first but it kept saying my daughter’s temperature was fine when she felt like she had a fever. I double checked with a thermometer under her armpit and it was 2 degrees higher! It seems to consistently be 1-2 degrees under the actual temperature.

    Accurate

    PTBec . 10 months ago

    Way easier than wrangling a toddler to put a thermometer under an armpit. Also find to be quite accurate.

    inconsistent and hard to scan

    TM . 3 years ago

    trying to get an accurate reading with this is difficult with a baby/toddler moving around. it also provides a different temperature every single scan, so it's completely inaccurate.

    Works well

    Cher . 3 years ago

    I usually have to take two readings the first reading, usually reads high or low and you have to make sure it is flush to the forehead or it won't read correctly. But it is way better than my Braun ear thermometer that I never get accurate reading from and paid twice as much for!

    LogoOriginally posted on bedbathbeyond.com

    Best thermometer we've owned!

    smiller919 . 3 years ago

    Accurate and so easy to use! I was skeptical at first because we've had horrible experiences with this type of thermometer in the past but the exergen really works and the price is so reasonable! I now recommend this thermometer to all of my family and friends!

    TERRIBLE

    unhappy . 3 years ago

    Don’t waste your money on this junk I’ve had mine for 7 months & it’s broken it read my sons temperature at 76.6 degrees I was like impossible then I read mine it said 58.5 I was like I would be literally dead. I tried to even call the number on the thermometer & I got no answer was on hold for 13 mins. Terrible product & terrible service

    Okay

    Can18 . 3 years ago

    This thermometer can be tricky to use. It works with accuracy when you do it right. I would not recommend for the price:

    LogoOriginally posted on bedbathbeyond.com

    Returned, inconsistent readings

    Leah . 4 years ago

    Could be user error since I don’t know what I’m doing but would get a different reading every time when practicing on myself. Same thing happened when practicing on babe and spouse. Not worth the risk if babe is sick.

    Wasn't accurate

    KristenK . 4 years ago

    We got this with our registry. Before my son was born we tried it out to see how it worked. We do have a thermometer we use for ourselves, so I wanted to test the accuracy with this one. This scanner said that I had a fever, and when I immediately took my temp with my other thermometer I had no fever. We tried this several times and even days later it still wasn't reading accurately. We returned this item.

    Stinks!

    CL2019 . 4 years ago

    Too difficult to get an accurate reading. You could try 10 times, and will get 10 different readings.

    Could be better

    Meg922 . 4 years ago

    I put this on my registry for a reason. I’m a nurse and we use this type of thermometer at my hospital, however the one I received does not take temperatures..it only stays in memory mode not sure if it’s broken. But there’s no way to get out of it. So needless to say when I have to take a temp it has to be done rectally.

    Doesn't wake baby

    Sugar961 . 4 years ago

    Great to use for sleeping baby. Compared rectal temp to temporal, very rarely was there a difference. When there was it was <1.

    Terrible

    New mom . 4 years ago

    I am not one to write reviews but I do read them. However, I feel very strongly against this product. This is the worst thermometer. As a new mother I wanted something that would be accurate but less intrusive to get a quick temperature for my son. My son had been sick and we were using the Exergen thermometer to get a quick temperature. The thermometer never registered a temperature above 97.8 degrees. My husband and I decided to take a rectal temperature just to double check. our son had a fever of 100.8 which we doubled checked with both thermometers. Naeedless to say, this is extremely dangerous and concerning how 2 thermometers can read with such a difference in degrees. I don’t expect the thermometer to be perfects but a range from 97-100 is to much of a variance for a 5 month old and dangerous. Needless to say I will never purchase anything from this brand again.

    Inaccurate!

    Gags . 4 years ago

    Do NOT buy this! Does not accurately take a temperature! The range is from 97.6 to 100.2. When you have an infant that’s too much of a range!

    Easiest to use

    Anniet . 5 years ago

    Much easier to use than expected....tried it on baby and adults and seems to be accurate on all. Much easier than some other touch thermometers i owned. Good value

    temp

    halt . 5 years ago

    This product is very easy to use and read. So glad I purchased it.

    Not Worth It

    KrisK . 5 years ago

    It is not very accurate and always takes about 5 times to actually get a read. I would not recommend it and go with one that you put in your baby’s ear.

    Still don't know how to use this thing.

    dddddora . 5 years ago

    It's not easy to use. Different temperature every time. And display should be on other side. Because its on the bottom, there's no way to tell if it started measuring or just shut off. Wish I could return, but it comes in that hard to open plastic packaging, so theres no putting it back.

    Nice

    Chiefcook . 5 years ago

    This thermometer is definitely better than the oral kind. At first it’s a bit confusing to use. That got better with a little practice. Much easier to use on the younger children. No more worries of them biting the thermometer in half.

    LogoOriginally posted on bedbathbeyond.com

    Terribly inaccurate

    marissa825 . 5 years ago

    Don't purchase! So inaccurate. Jumps around temperatures. I tried to take my daughters temperature and it went from 99.6 to 98.3 to 100.4 to 101.5 to 99.1. How on earth could that be correct, all within 1 minute?? Don't waste your money

    Showing 1 - 20 out of 31 reviews